My Farewell Speech

My Farewell Speech

Farewell Day: 20/05/23

ยท

7 min read

Here in this blog, I attempted to pen down what would have been my farewell speech during the farewell event if I had actually prepared for it ๐Ÿ˜Œ. But guess what? I wanted to try something extemporaneous, which is why I went without any preparation. However, since I definitely have some lines in my mind, I decided to write them down ๐Ÿ˜€.

My Speech:

Hello, everyone. Do I need to introduce myself? Haha, I am a very famous person now, isn't that right? But three years ago, if someone had come up to me and said that by the end of my graduation, I would be known, respected, and loved by my juniors, I would have told them, "Bhai tu doctor dikhale pehle kyuki tera dimag pura kharab hogaya hei!"

Haha, I have always been very shy and introverted right from my childhood. But I guess I was good enough to maintain excellent grades in school. I scored 91% in my matriculation exams and, as expected, chose the Science stream, just like anyone else would. However, those two years during my higher secondary were the toughest. I received the lowest marks possible, lived each day like a lifeless machine, got depressed, lost all hope, and felt completely shattered. I saw people around me doing well in their lives while I kept on failing. I believed that the problem lay with me.

But now when I look back, I realize that the fault was that I was just trying to do what everyone else was doing, solely focusing on grades. Whereas, my true strength lies in enjoying and understanding the subjects in my own way. I had this realization when I took my JEE Mains exam back in 2020, where I ended up with a meager 92 percentile. But back then, I knew I didn't want to take a gap year. Instead of trying to fix my past, I wanted to start fresh. And guess what? I did. I chose Computer Science simply because I didn't have it in my higher secondary education. I thought taking Computer Science was a good option because I didn't have any negative memories attached to it.

However, during the admission process, the pandemic hit, and I ended up taking admission to GC College, in my hometown. Initially, I thought I would regret this decision, but now, I don't think I do. That decision actually allowed me to spend enough time with my family, and develop the maturity to understand the family problems and the sacrifices they made for me. I gained an understanding of why my hometown is precious and how my roots are attached to it.

I was fortunate enough to have a group of good teachers and friends. Abhijit sir is one of my favorite teachers in this life. He is the person I can call anytime to ask for guidance, opinions, or clarification on any doubts. I also can't forget Mema Ma'am's care and affection. I remember the time when she gave me Rs. 100 and said it was a treat from her. I will always appreciate Deepanjali Ma'am's efforts. Very few teachers I have met put in so much effort to make us understand any topic. She always gave 100% to ensure we understood the subject.

And how can I forget my friends? They are my most precious assets. We made countless memories and enjoyed each one of them thoroughly. From the first video call during the pandemic to today, the time of our farewell, I will cherish these days forever. That's why I made a video dedicated to our college memories. I hope everyone likes it.

Check it out here: College Memories 2k20-23

This department itself is very special to me. That's probably the reason I tried to form a students' club with a couple of my precious friends. Because, at the end of the day, I believed there was a lack of community learning within our department and I wanted to do something about it. I am glad that I could provide as much guidance as possible to my fellow juniors, and I am equally happy that they were eager to learn from me. I believe this club is my legacy, and they will carry it forward and achieve new heights.

I am also happy that last year I was the first person to initiate the conversation about giving a farewell to our seniors with my classmates. From that very moment, we successfully organized numerous events within the department, such as Bon Voyage 2k22, NeoFest 2k22, Picnic 2k23, and a variety of other formal events at the college. I had the opportunity to witness event management up close and personal, and I learned so much from it. It was during these events that I held a microphone for the first time and tried my hand at public speaking. I also gave my first official dance performance, I actually never thought I would be doing it someday. I am proud that I tried everything and surpassed the boundaries I once thought I would never be able to cross.

I have three pieces of advice for all of you. First and foremost, "Don't choose the person from whom you learn; choose what you learn from them". You see, no one in this world is perfect, and no one is completely worthless. The person you consider a failure today may turn out to be the founder of a successful business venture tomorrow. Never look down on anyone, and always try to find something to learn from them. Speaking from my own experience, I have learned so many things from the people around me. For example, I learned communication and event management skills from Roni. I learned how to be an expert in a particular field from Anuj. I learned the importance of principles and keeping one's word from Debojyoti. And from Supriyo, I learned to face any situation in life with a smile. He never worries about anything; he believes that whatever happens, will be dealt with later. I believe this mindset will help anyone to stay positive and face situations with confidence.

Now, I know that I cleared the very first company interview I appeared for and received a job offer, but do I deserve it? I don't know because I am not the hardest-working person in this department, nor am I the smartest. However, I believe I got this opportunity because I was prepared to fail. The moment we become afraid to fail, we also push success away.

My second piece of advice is "Choose habits over goals". Do you want to crack an entrance exam in the future or succeed in a job interview? It all depends on how you choose to spend your time. Setting goals is important, but it is equally crucial to determine what you need to do to achieve those goals. If it requires you to be good at math, start by solving three math problems every day without fail. If you focus on each day, you will eventually become capable of achieving your goals. Remember, the days are long, but the years are short. I couldn't believe how quickly these three years passed. But if we plan each day and make good use of our time, it's enough to reach a respectable stage in our lives.

Lastly, my final advice is, "Suno sabki but karo khudki!" In life, you may seek other people's opinions and advice when making decisions but don't forget to ask yourself what you want to do. Not what you should do, but what you genuinely desire. Because, at the end of the day, the burden of regrets is too heavy to bear. We live in a time where survival is not the sole motto; being happy in life is equally important. So always make decisions based on your happiness.

Last but not least enjoy your college life, because this time will never come back. It's a precious part of an individual's life. The college is where you make your last set of cool friends. The experiences and memories you'll make during this time will always stay with you. I am sure many of us have shared amazing memories together, and I hope those memories stay with us forever.

I would like to thank all my juniors of both the 4th and 2nd semesters for organizing this farewell event for us. Whenever in life you need any kind of guidance or help feel free to contact me. Thank you, everyone, for being a part of my journey. Thank you for making me feel special and loved. Thank you for being here today to celebrate our farewell. I wish every one of you the very best in your future endeavors. May your dreams come true, and may you find happiness and success in everything you do.

This is Kaustav Purkayastha from the Batch 2k20-23 signing off!

ย